How to Cancel, Close or Pause your Shopify Store
Oct 17, 2019

How to Cancel, Close or Pause your Shopify Store

Home » Blog » How to Cancel, Close or Pause your Shopify Store

Close your store, cancel your account, or temporarily pause business

In business, things don’t always go according to plan. Sales can plummet unexpectedly, life circumstances change, maybe you’re interested in trying a different e-commerce platform or need to take a short break for a family vacation.

Whatever your reason for wanting to close – and cancel - your Shopify store, this step-by-step guide will walk you through the process. If you only want to temporarily shut your doors to the public, this guide will also outline how to pause your store until you’re ready to open again.

What you need to know before you shut up shop

Thankfully, closing and pausing a Shopify store is a straightforward process, but there are a few things you need to know first.

  • You need to be the one to close your store – the Shopify support team can’t do this for you.
  • Closing your Shopify store will also cancel your Shopify account, meaning you’ll no longer have access to your admin pages. Therefore, temporarily pausing your account may be a better option if you’re unsure closing is something you really want to do.
  • You’ll lose your store’s name and URL, and you won’t be able to ‘reopen’ under the same name should you change your mind.
  • If you have outstanding bills or charges owing to Shopify, you won’t be able to close your account until you’ve paid these in full.
  • Often the most time-consuming part of closing a Shopify store but arguably the most prudent step, is uninstalling and cancelling any third-party apps, especially those with recurring monthly charges. Uninstalling apps from your Shopify store will not automatically cancel your subscription – this will need to be done with the app directly. Because most apps charge monthly, be aware you probably won’t be entitled to any refunds.
  • You also won’t receive refunds from Shopify for any remaining subscription. If you’re cancelling a free trial, you won’t be charged for anything.
  • Finally, if you have custom domain name, you’ll need to transfer it. If you purchased and connected the domain name using a third-party, all you’ll need to do is remove the domain from your Shopify store and change the DNS settings with your domain registrar. This is so you can still use the domain even after your Shopify account has been cancelled. If you purchased the domain through Shopify, you’ll need to transfer management of the domain to another hosting platform or registrar.
  • Shopify’s HTTP strict transfer security (HSTS) remains effective for 90 days after your store’s closure, which shouldn’t be an issue if your new platform is https-enabled. If not, visitors to your store will see a security message that your store is insecure, not to be trusted, and your certificate is not valid.

Closing – and cancelling – your Shopify store

When you’re ready to close the curtains for good on your store, here are the steps you’ll need to take:

  1. Log in to your account and navigate your way in your store’s admin panel to Settings>Account.
  2. Scroll to the bottom of the account page where you’ll find the Store Status panel. Click Close Store.
  3. A pop-up window will appear asking you for feedback on why you’re closing your store and how you can contact the Shopify Support Team. Choose your reason, enter your password when prompted and click Close Store.
  4. You’ll be taken to a confirmation screen – and that’s that. Your Shopify store is officially closed.

If you wake in the middle of the night with the cold sweats and want to reactivate your account, you have a small window of opportunity. Your store data and configuration will be stored for 30 days.

Remember, you can’t create a new store with the same name and URL so if you do change your mind, you’re best to reactivate your old account. Free Shopify trial accounts will be closed immediately.

Not sure? Pause your store instead

The alternative to closing your store’s doors completely is to put your Shopify account on hold. With this option, your store will still be accessible online, and you’ll still have access to your admin panel – but the checkout function of your store will be disabled.

Pausing your store will still cost you significantly less than Shopify’s Basic Plan. You’ll be shifted to Shopify’s Dormant Plan, which is approximately $14 per month. You will also still need to uninstall and cancel any third-party apps with recurring monthly fees because these can’t be paused. And you’ll also need to take care of any outstanding Shopify charges before you can push pause.

Here are the steps for pausing your account:

  1. Log in to your account and navigate your way in your store’s admin panel to Settings>Account.
  2. Scroll to the bottom of the account page where you’ll find the Store Status panel. Click Pause Store.
  3. A pop-up window will appear asking you to confirm your billing details. Then click Pause Store.
  4. When you’re ready to unpause, log in to your account, navigate to Settings>Account>Compare Plans. Shopify requires you to choose a new plan and confirm your billing details again before your store’s checkout function is re-enabled.

To temporarily stop visitors from accessing your store, you could consider adding password protection to your store. Without the password, customers won’t be able to view your products or place orders. You can add a customised message to explain to your customers why your store is temporarily closed.

Slimming down operations

Most e-commerce sellers go through rough patches – it’s almost a rite of passage. In the heat of the moment it can be tempting to give up, but remember, Rome wasn’t built in a day.

Rather than closing operations altogether, there are ways you can slim down your operations if things have become a little overwhelming. It’s no secret that e-commerce sellers find staying on top of their accounts one of the most time-consuming and stress-inducing tasks, and this is where A2X for Shopify can help.

A2X for Shopify imports all your Shopify transactions – sales, fees, refunds, Shopify Payments payouts – summarises the amounts and posts them directly to your accounting system (QuickBooks or Xero). The crafty app – known as a connector app – stops your accounting system from being swamped by the unnecessary detail of individual orders. The accrual accounting records posted reconcile to your Shopify Payments bank deposits, so you can be sure everything has been accounted for accurately.

Finding ways to automate the back end of your store will drastically reduce the amount of time – from hours to minutes – you need to spend hunched over your accounts trying to figure out what’s going on in your business.

Your options – close, pause or automate

If you’ve decided it’s time for you to shut up shop, Shopify make it easy to close your store and cancel your account. You can also, just as easily, press pause if you need a short break. First consider why you want to close your store, and if it’s a simple – or not so simple – matter of struggling to keep up, look at ways to automate the tasks causing you the most stress.


Share On:

Ready to get started?

Save time, work smarter and get reliable Amazon and Shopify financials you can trust, in a matter of minutes.

Try A2X for Free